Super simple gold DIY easter eggs. Head over to the blog to see the festive easter eggs. How do you celebrate easter?
Super simple gold DIY easter eggs. Head over to the blog to see the festive easter eggs. How do you celebrate easter?

I love Holidays! In general, I totally buy into the festivities no matter what religion the holiday belongs to. I just love how they bring people together and usually have yummy food and fun crafts surrounding them! Last Easter, Lauren Conrad posted these cuties:

 

Image via LaurenConrad.com
Image via LaurenConrad.com

 

So this year I decided to try my hand out making these cuties… only thing is that I am left handed, and the struggle is so real. I kept having to maneuver the egg so I wouldn’t smear it with the side of my hand, leading to things slanting all over the place. 

I am not totally sure how LC made her super cute eggs, but I took a guess and bought a gold sharpie.

I started by hard boiling the eggs. Let them cool to room temperature once they finished and dried. Then I grabbed my gold sharpie and went to town. I messed up a few of them, so I rolled them over and used the other side 😉 . They took me about 5-10 minutes, I like the ones without words, just fun little designs. The gold sharpie really gives them a nice and clean finish, IMO.

Not sure how safe it is to eat the eggs post sharpie, but I figure if I crack the shell and get it off quick enough before the chemicals soak into the egg, we should be good for some nice egg salad after this experiment? I hope? We will see… haha.

So how did they come out?

 

  

 

Next year I will definitely opt for more of a “hay” type of “grass” rather than the full on blue Easter grass… I also saw this cool idea for putting flash tattoos and making tribal eggs! I just couldn’t find any flash tattoos (apparently they are so last year). 

How are you celebrating Easter? Make sure to share you eggs with me in the comments!  I would love to see them!

